Thursday 2 April 2015

Sodom (Ger) - Obsessed By Cruelty [Steamhammer] (1986)

Sodom (Ger) - Obsessed By Cruelty [Steamhammer] (1986)

I'm sure everyone knows about the problem surrounding the release of this album and how there are two different recordings out there.  If not, go look it up, its everywhere on the internet and I can't be bothered typing out what hundreds already have.

Anyway, this is the European Steamhammer recording which is meant to be the "better", less shit version which was recorded after the first was scrapped.  I don't like it as much, it sounds too clean.  Thats not to say it has super sterile modern day production, but for what this is and compared to the original recording found on Metal Blade pressings, this is boring.  It sounds about as threatening as a wet cardboard box in comparison.  Only upside is that this version actually does have the track After The Deluge which is missing from the US pressing.

  1. Intro (The Rebirth)
  2. Deathlike Silence
  3. Brandish The Sceptre
  4. Proselytism Real
  5. Equinox
  6. After The Deluge
  7. Obsessed By Cruelty
  8. Fall Of Majesty Town
  9. Nuctemeron
  10. Pretenders To The Throne
  11. Witchhammer
  12. Volcanic Slut
Country: Germany
Bit Rate: 320kbps
Password: brownsock


  1. Bro.. this is the better one you're tripping the other one is the one that's as threatening as a wet cardboard box